TRAVEL IS GOOD FOR THE SOUL – DOURO

BOM DIA

What’s the best way to travel through your good memories in these difficult times? Of course, it is to sit down with a nice meal and a bottle of wine, that means something for all of us.

I still remember when I had the great idea to travel by train from Porto to QUINTA DO VESUVIO on 14 August 2010. It is the best way to visit the UNESCO valley. The train run next to the river and there is an amazing view on the terraced vineyards.

Unfortunately they were shut….everybody was in holiday. My fault I should have contacted them in advance but I just decided at the last minute the day before to do the trip. Therefore  I had a nice midday pick nick under the shadow of a tree next to the river the baking Douro’s summer. Meditation, relaxation and contemplation of the beauty of the surroundings, and it reminded me of my last year passed in Kent, the garden of England. Definitely, this single trip and experience  made my day. 

Today I’m tasting POMBAL DO VESUVIO 2017 Douro Do from the well established PORTO fortified wine producer SYMINGTON FAMILY ESTATE.

Alcohol: 13.7 % vol.

PROVENANCE & GRAPE VARIETIES

Quinta do Vesuvio, Douro Superior. 70% Touriga Nacional
25% Touriga Franca
5% Tinta Amarela

AGEING & PRODUCTION

10 months in 400 and 225 litre French oak barrels.

Important, I made sure to open it one hour ago to let it breath (no need to decant it)
I needed a full body vino  to go with my Sunday Roast and I thought it was the perfect match for it.

On the nose it is very complex starting to delivery some savoury, game and leather aromas. There is an  hint of positive VA Volatile Acidity (Balsamic vinegar) Anyway this is balanced and brings nice compounds of black fruits to my nose; blackcurrant, bramble, prune, dry figs (hot continental climate) and red fruits like cherries. There is a dry mediterranean herbal element and pungent spices on it (oak and castas).  After a long time in the glass, it develops an eucalyptus mind and chocolate, delivering what I call After eight experience that I found also in a few Oz warm climate wines. 

On the palate I found it had a well structured firm, slightly bitter and well integrated tannins. There is a vibrant acidity to keep the wine balanced inviting me for a second sip.
The alcohol is generous but It’s not burning. Slurping & chewing the vino,  it has got some retro nose aromas and good intensity depth.(This is sign of quality)

The grand finale is a pleasant long finish and lingering after taste in the mouth.

A very good wine using indigenous grapes with a strong sense of place. 

AnywayI will keep a couple of bottles because in 2-3 years of bottle maturation it will be at it’s best.

It’s time to carve the roast and with  thissip I say to myself
See you soon Douro! Forca Portugal 
I agree with Tim Atkins MW when he said “It is a lovely place where to get retired”

THE WINEXPONENT VOTE 87/100 on 21/03/21

https://www.symington.com/brand/quinta-do-vesuvio

http://www.winesofportugal.info

Lascia un commento